WorldWide Developers Against Apple Censorship Conference

CENSORSHIP IN CHINA & CHINA-CONTROLLED REGIONS: Then & Now

9:00am EDT / 9:00pm HKT (22thJune 2020)

This panel will engage leading human rights and technology experts to discuss the history and goals of censorship by the government of China and how it has evolved to today. We will discuss censorship on websites and platforms such as WeChat and TikTok and hear the impact on human rights.

FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION & APPLE: The Double Standard for China, Tibet, East Turkestan, and Hong Kong

11:45am EDT / 11:45pm HK (22thJune 2020)

This panel brings human rights activists from communities directly impacted by Apple censorship together with corporate accountability advocates. While Apple claims to believe freedom of expression is a “fundamental human right,” we will hear how the App Store maintains a double standard when it comes to areas controlled by the government of China.

PUBLISHING iOS APPS WHEN CENSORED

2:30pm EDT / 2:30am HKT (22thJune 2020)

 This panel will discuss Apple bans on iOS apps in China’s App Store market and implications on human rights and access to information. It will also explore projects from participants working to shed light on censorship, as well as discussions on what developers can do and, more importantly, what Apple can do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Solve : *
22 − 10 =


Top